Turkish in the U.S.

Turkish Studies Programs in the United States

Columbia University
Turkish Language Program (Middle Eastern, South Asian, and African Studies)
Zuleyha Colak
zc2208@columbia.edu
(212) 854-0473

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate
Harvard University
Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations Department (NELC)
Himmet Taskomur
taskomur@fas.harvard.edu
(617) 496-8568

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate
Indiana University
Turkish Flagship Program
Director, Prof. Kemal Silay
ksilay@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0705

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate
Northwestern University
Keyman Modern Turkish Studies Program
Rita Koryan
turkishstudies@northwestern.edu, ayca@northwestern.edu
(847) 467-2770

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate
Portland State University
Center for Turkish Studies
Director, Prof. Birol Yesilada
yesilada@pdx.edu
(503) 725-3455
(503) 725-3257

Program:
Certificate in Contemporary Turkish Studies
University of Arizona
School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Prof. Amy Newhall
newhall@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-5850

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate
University of Chicago
Ottoman and Turkish Studies
Cornell H. Fleischer
c-fleischer@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8798

Program:
Graduate and Undergraduate History focus
University of Michigan
Turkish Studies
Prof. Gottfried Hagen
ghagen@umich.edu
(734) 763-1596

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate
University of Texas
Turkish Studies
Shelly Bowers
sbowers@austin.utexas.edu

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate
University of Washington
Turkish and Ottoman Studies Program
Director, Prof. Selim Kuru
selims@uw.edu
(206) 543-0697

Program:
Interdisciplinary Undergraduate and Graduate

Return to top